You're Reading...
In other news

What is hoarding?

Human beings are all different. They all have different tolerance thresholds & motivators.

Hoarding is a word I detest because it is a blanket label with NO basis in Mental Health care, there is no classification or designation for the term, it is not recognized in the psychiatric community as a “disorder”, merely as a symptom of other disorders.

We have a whole page dedicated to explaining it on my rescue web page, what it is & what it is not.

HELP WITH HOARDING

I am concerned about this whole thing because once it is deemed a “mental disorder” it will become a LEGAL DEFENSE… I bet no one ever figured that one out! Commercial Kennels/Puppy Mills/Dog Fighting Rings/Cock Fighting Rings will all be using the “Hoarder” defense.

Now that Ms Hamilton’s case is over I am going to talk about it. I have never talked to or met the Hamilton’s & I was so afraid that Pasado’s breaking & entering would’ve compromised the entire case, the dogs that were killed were “sacrificed” for the sake of the prosecution. No one won in all of this.

From what I can gather is that they had all of these prior show dogs & being in the show ring community is mentally taxing at best, the competition & backbiting makes rescue drama look like kindergarten.

One rumor & your career is over, your precious dogs have no more value than a pound pup & everything you’ve worked your whole life for is gone. One of the dogs fosters commented that their dogs had congenital heart defects, if that was the case they couldn’t let those dogs be adopted out & have someone find out. So why just keep them, why not put them down or quit breeding from that line?

My own personal opinion & preference is that I should NEVER have anymore dogs then I can pay attention to on an individual basis so that they maintain good mental health, & I take dogs who require more care so that limits my intake numbers.

I work with breeders for this very reason: They give them to me, & we get them adopted out & no one has any idea where they came from only that they were formerly a breeders dog. I have walked into situations with up to 125 dogs & I can only thank God that every situation I have walked into (so far) the dogs have been healthy & well fed, albeit STARVED for attention. I honest to God don’t know what I would do if I walked into a situation with the Hamilton’s Burien house, that would’ve shaken me to my very core.

But you see I am a Minister as well as a rescuer, there are always humans involved & helpless animals. I try to find the balance. If it is a situation I know can be monitored or remedied I handle it myself with help from lots of friends, but if it is a situation that I can’t safely keep an eye on, or someone who will not work with me or completely denies there is a problem then I get the authorities involved. If I feel it is a mental health issue I get them resources from the community & make myself available to them. Some of the mental health issues I have encountered do not warrant any kindness on my part, & some of these have nothing to do with mental health issues just plain selfishness & mean spiritedness.

I do have to commend the Animal Control authorities, in situations where I have had to call them in they have given the situations immediate attention & worked with the people, they monitor them & there has never been any media involved. The POS animal control officer I am having problems with is the exception, not the rule, most of the AC Officers are in it for the animals, & most also care about people & will bend over backwards to help both.

On the flip side I have a friend I go visit & she has as far as I can tell 19 dogs, all fixed, all microchipped, all healthy, well fed & they all get along great, my great grandpa always had at least 12 hound dogs, I have seen people with high numbers of animals do just fine.

I want to leave you with a lesson in humanity today, we don’t know the whole story behind the Hamilton’s situation. She took a plea deal, everything that I know about her is that she loved her animals, but the situation was awful for those dogs. If you have EVER called yourself her friend then as her friend if you had been to the Issaquah home you should’ve been concerned & talked to her about it, you should’ve offered help.

Mrs Hamilton has lost everything, her husband, her career & most of the animals. Now let it go… I got over 165 emails about this situation, some of them were snide awful emails from bitter hateful people, most of them were from other breeder/show people who were trying to explain to me how it got to that point, & how common it is. I have a far better understanding of what happened & how to help the next people. I also helped 3 other people in a similar situation so they didn’t end up on the news 1/2 way across the country.

When people work together for the good of animals & people everyone wins. When you turn things into a media circus no one wins, it only feeds the misery trolls.

wordpress visitor
About animallawnewsandabuse

I am an animals rescuer, a mother, a grandmother, a minister, & a human being who is tired of all the corruption going on in our state.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please Consider a Donation

We couldn't do this without you!
wordpress visitors
Snohomish County Sheriff's Watch

Keeping An Eye On Those In Power

Research Advocates NW

Finding Answers To Life's Mysteries

Trump Tracker

Keeping Track of the 45th's Alternative Facts

Missing and Murdered of Snohomish County

Because all life matters and none should be forgotten

Washington Activist

Private Information Sharing for Washington Activists

Real Estate Scams

Broken Dreams... Broken Lives

Political Fails

When politics, government and Social Media collide

Snohomish County campus News

The back story you don't get from mainstream news

WA Social Justice Initiative

A grassroots community to help attain "Justice" for those unable to go it alone.

JONATHAN TURLEY

Res ipsa loquitur ("The thing itself speaks")

John Wills Lloyd

These are some personal views about living, loving, hoping, and such.

Fighting Corruption In Stevens County

The struggle for freedom lives here

Rose Marie Adams

The Evil That Lurks Within

Corrupt Washington

Fighting For Change

Did You Check First?

It's fine to have an opinion. It's better to know the facts.

Real Mommies and Daddies of the Real America and our Children who Want to Come Home

FAMILY COURT FRAUD AND CPS CORRUPTION, MATERNAL DEPRIVATION, GOVERNMENT CORRUPTION, WAR ON WOMEN AND CHILDREN, ATTACK ON AMERICAN FAMILY

The Lizard Farmer

"You can't starve us out and you can't make us run 'cause we're them old boys raised on shotguns" -Bocephus

www.TheReaganWing.com

“Government is not the solution to our problem; government is the problem.”~ Ronald Reagan, Jan. 20, 1981

cultiv8hopedianawinslowmsw

Call for compliance with 2010 UN Human Rights Sexual Assault Response

Protecting Peoples Rights

The sworn duty of all public servants

wjr5006's Blog

Police Accountability

Rcooley123's Blog

Rick Cooley's Blog

plsef

Social Justice

No Loss for Words

Thoughts from a Back Bencher!

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

We Hold These Truths To Be Self-Evident

that all men are created equal

Boomerang Zone

the score is oogy to boogy

Corrigan's Cookday

Economic Gourmet Meal Experiences

Free Obituaries & Memorials

In Loving Memory of Those We Have Loved & Those We Have Loved

The Unraveling

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spokane Police Abuses: Past to Present

The People of Spokane vs. Law Enforcement Abuse, Impunity, Corruption, and Cover-up

Spiritual Man

The Journey to a Spiritual Life

bmr250

A topnotch WordPress.com site

WatchBlog: Official Blog of the U.S. Government Accountability Office

GAO provides fact-based, nonpartisan information to Congress. The WatchBlog offers short, shareable insights from GAO reports on a wide variety of topics.

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Tuck The Law Dog

TuckTheLawDogWordPress.com site

Corrupt WA

"At the core of the rotten onion is a corrupt lawyer"

Snohomish County Reporter

Standing for those who cannot stand for themselves

Stop Corrupt DSS

Corruption in the Department of Social Services System

lsnewsspot

Lake Stevens news source. Your community news source by choice. On Twitter @LSNewsSpot. Send news tips to: Lsnewstips@gmail.com

Queen City +Addendum

Years ago, I thought up the name Queen. It's just a name. But it's regal, obviously, and -sounds splendid. ~ Freddie Mercury

Roger Goodman - Not A Good Man

The truth has finally come out... and it's not pretty.

Straight from the Horse's Heart

A Spiritual Ride through Love, Loss and Hope

Animal Law News & Abuse

Animal Rescuer & Owner resource site: news, views, civil rights, & politics

